Thursday, June 13, 2024

Latest Posts

Sharath and Manika to steer squads in Paris

Achanta Sharath Kamal in actionNew Delhi: A number of CWG medallist A. Sharath Kamal and world No. 24 Manika Batra will spearhead the crew occasions of Indian women and men challenges, respectively, on the July-August Paris Olympics in what would be the first-ever participation of our squads on the Video games.

The senior choice committee of the Desk Tennis Federation of India (TTFI), which met right here right this moment, picked a six-member squad (three in every part) as per the Olympics norms, apart from naming the people who would compete within the singles occasions.

Achanta Sharath Kamal, Harmeet Desai, and Manav Thakkar will type the three-member males’s crew, whereas Manika Batra, Sreeja Akula and Archana Kamath will probably be squad members within the girls’s class.

The “Alternate Participant” in every part can be G. Sathiyan and Ayhika Mukherjee.

Within the males’s singles, Sharath and Harmeet will compete and will probably be Manika and Sreeja within the girls’s occasion.

Because the collection of the squads and the people had been as per the already pronounced TTFI standards, three gamers “bought chosen themselves” due to their constant performances over time and world rankings.

Nonetheless, there was a debate over the third participant for the ladies’s squad. After Manika and Sreeja Akula walked in on the again of their larger world rankings (prime 50), Archana Kamath made it to the crew because the third participant. The Bengaluru paddler edged Ayhika Mukherjee out as the previous scored over the latter on a number of counts, together with her world rating (No.103), 33 locations forward of Ayhika.

As for the lads, Sharath picked himself because the top-ranked Indian at No. 40, whereas Hareemt (No. 63) and Manav (No. 62) had been separated by one slot in WR. Although each made it to the crew composition, Nationwide champion Harmeet bought the selectors’ nod based mostly on his worldwide (higher win-loss proportion to his participation) and nationwide performances.

By the way, Massimo Costantini’s presence as a particular invitee on the assembly additionally added tooth because the international knowledgeable’s inputs proved helpful within the collection of the squads.

The groups:

Males: A. Sharath Kamal, Harmeet Desai, and Manav Thakkar.

Alternate Participant: G. Sathiyan.

Ladies: Manika Batra, Sreeja Akula, and Archana Kamath.

Alternate Participant: Ayhika Mukherjee.


Latest Posts

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.